What if you could act to improve air quality?

Developed by IFP Energies nouvelles (IFPEN), with the support of ADEME, GECO air is available for free on the iOS and Android stores.
Participate in the GECO air movement, reduce your impact to breathe cleaner air!

Atmospheric pollution, CO2 emissions … Each of us, can reduce its own polluting emissions (nitrogen oxide, fine particles, etc.) related to his/her trips: by adapting his/her driving style (more smooth) and favoring “sustainables” modes of transport (cycling, public transport). GECO air is here to accompany us in this process.

Why GECO air ?

Recently air pollution hits the headlines.
For now, debate is limited to the most polluting vehicle technologies such as gasoline fueled vehicles.
GECO air adds the eco-citizen axis and define our mobility behavior at the heart of the action!
This smartphone app helps us to reduce, on a daily basis, polluting emissions of our journeys:

  • By estimating the polluting emissions of all our trips, GECO Air is our mobility partner and informs us,
  • By analyzing emissions of our journeys, whatever the type of transport (car, bicycle, public transport),
  • By making us aware of the polluting nature of some of our trips with a “mobility score”, delivered each day and after each trip thanks to an objective measurement tool expressed in Pollutant Points (POPs)
  • By helping us improve our way of driving with simple, practical and personalized tips after each trip,
  • By recommending us to choose soft transportation modes such as cycling when possible.

The benefits are real: by optimizing our driving style, emissions of our vehicle can be reduced by half!

And even with an old vehicle, we can all act together to improve the quality of the air!

Did you know ?

The level of pollutant emissions (nitrogen oxide, fine particles, carbon monoxide) of a vehicle depends on its technology, the type of journey but also the driving style.

This last point remains little known, however, for the same route and the same vehicle, polluting emissions can vary by a factor of 1 to 4!

How to use the app?

The application is available for free on the app stores. Test the application in demo mode, or set up your account in just a few clicks. Forget it then in your pocket; The application will analyze your trips in a completely automatic way. You only need to refer to your journal to see your results and receive tips to reduce your air quality impact.

How does it work?

GECO air takes into account all the vehicle characteristics (power, fuel, etc.) to generate a model for the pollutants calculation specific to each vehicle. Our algorithms automatically detect each of your trips and differentiate whether you are driving, cycling or walking. Your trips are then analyzed on our servers and polluting emissions are then estimated for each of them. For more details: detailed operation


gecoair_screen1

A unique metrics, the Pollutant Point, “POP”

All pollutants are combined into a single, simple indicator, the Point Pollutant POP. A POP score is associated with each trip, less POP means that less pollution generated. By following his/her POPs, the user will measure the polluting impact of each of his/her routes. For instance, taking a car for a short course will greatly increase his/her POPs of the day and encourage it, if it can, to choose wisely its transporation mode. At the end of each journey, the result is accompanied by simple and practical advice to improve the way of driving and thus contribute to improve air quality.

icone-de-batterie_21212559
In order to reduce battery consumption and respect your privacy, the GPS is activated only when necessary (only during your car trips).

GECO air, a database to improve future urban developments

GECO air helps us to better understand air pollution at the local scale and thus helps to improve air quality estimate. GECO air collects data on your trips And does not have commercial purpose. Funded by IFPEN, and Ademe, this initiative aims to fight against environmental degradation. The deployment of the application will collect significant data to feed our research. For example, we will be able to study pollution on a trip, on a particular route, through data from several drivers over several days. From there, we can release a map and point out areas of high particulate emissions and pollutants. These data can then be used to influence the structure of the road: to favor a 30km/h paved zone rather than a speed bump to avoid sudden drivers’ accelerations and thus a pollution peak … Simple ideas to start with but which could lead state departments, air quality agencies and municipalities to take action based on actual experience and real driving conditions based study. This is a citizen science campaign, enabling the citizen to participate in scientific projects that are based on real usage data.


With GECO air, IFPEN uses its scientific expertise in the fields of pollutant modeling  and engines, and the development of algorithms.
GECO air complements the action initiated by IFPEN in 2014 in the field of services connected with the ecoconduite app GECO which already counts more than 26,000 users.

To know more:  How does it work?

All vehicles pollute

  Diesel vehicles are often perceived as the only ones responsible for the emission of fine particles, which is false. Not only are new petrol direct injection vehicles also concerned, but all vehicles, regardless of their propulsion system, emit fine particles due to abrasion of tires and brakes. Geco air …

Support

Automatic detection on Huawei / Xiaomi phones On certain brands of telephones, it is necessary to allow Geco air to turn in the background in order to benefit the automatic detection feature. Applicable devices: Huawei/Honor Xiaomi Instructions 1. Add Geco air to the list of protected applications:       …

How does it work?

This article presents how works the GECO air application, from its installation to its daily use. It also explains the scientific approach used to estimate pollutants and answers the questions that the most skeptical might ask. Download & setup The app is available on the application stores for free, for iOS and Android. …

Air quality : a key issue

In October 2013, the World Health Organization classified outdoor air pollution as an indubious human carcinogen. Air pollutants, especially partiticles, represent a major health issue. In France, it is estimated that exposure to fine particles (PM2.5) reduces life expectancy by 8.2 months and is responsible for 42,000 premature deaths each …

An app to act

GECO air starts from a simple observation: with the same vehicle and on the same route, polluting emissions can vary from simple to triple depending on the driving style. This observation unfortunately remains unknown to the general public. The objective of this application is to help drivers understand and reduce …

Who are we?

IFP Energies nouvelles (IFPEN) is a major player in research and training in the fields of energy, transport and the environment. As part of its mission of general interest, entrusted by the public authorities, IFPEN focuses its efforts on providing solutions to the societal challenges of energy and climate, favoring …

Et si vous pouviez agir pour améliorer la qualité de l’air?

Développée par IFP Energies nouvelles (IFPEN), avec le soutien de l’ADEME, GECO air est disponible gratuitement sur les stores iOS et Android.

Téléchargez GECO air et réduisez votre impact pour respirer un air plus pur !

Pollution atmosphérique, émissions de CO2… Chacun d’entre nous, à son échelle, peut réduire les émissions polluantes (oxydes d’azote, particules fines, etc.) liées à ses déplacements : en adaptant au quotidien son style de conduite (plus souple) et en privilégiant les modes de transport « doux » (vélo, transports en commun). GECO air nous accompagne dans cette démarche.

Pourquoi GECO air ?

Pic de pollution, vignettes Crit’air, Dieselgate, la pollution atmosphérique est au cœur de notre actualité.
Le débat reste pour le moment limité aux technologies des véhicules les plus polluants.
GECO air ajoute l’axe éco-citoyen et met notre comportement de mobilité au cœur de l’action !
L’application nous aide à réduire, au quotidien, les émissions polluantes de nos déplacements :

  • En estimant les émissions polluantes de tous nos déplacements, GECO air est notre partenaire mobilité et nous informe,
  • En analysant les émissions de nos trajets, quel que soit le type de transport (voiture, vélo, transport en commun),
  • En nous sensibilisant sur le caractère polluant de certains de nos déplacements avec un « score mobilité », délivré chaque jour et après chaque trajet grâce à un outil de mesure objectif exprimé en Points Polluants (POP),
  • En nous aidant à améliorer notre façon de conduire par des conseils simples, pratiques et personnalisés après chaque trajet,
  • En nous recommandant de privilégier les modes de transport doux comme le vélo quand cela est possible.

Les gains sont concrets : en optimisant notre conduite, les émissions de notre véhicule peuvent être réduites de moitié !

Et ceci même avec un véhicule ancien, nous pouvons agir tous ensemble pour améliorer la qualité de l’air !

cycle1.png

Le saviez-vous ?

Le niveau d’émissions polluantes (oxyde d’azote, particules fines, monoxyde de carbone) d’un véhicule dépend de sa technologie, du type de trajet mais aussi du style de conduite. Ce dernier point reste méconnu, pourtant, pour un même parcours et un même véhicule, les émissions polluantes peuvent varier d’un facteur 1 à 4 !

Comment utiliser l’application?

L’application est disponible gratuitement sur les stores. Testez l’application en mode démo, ou paramétrez votre compte en quelques clics. Oubliez la ensuite dans votre poche; l’application analysera vos déplacements de manière tout à fait automatique. Vous n’avez qu’à vous référer à votre journal pour voir vos résultats et recevoir des conseils pour réduire votre impact sur la qualité de l’air.

Fonctionnement de GECO air

GECO air prend en compte toutes les caractéristiques du véhicule (puissance, carburant…) pour générer un modèle de calcul des polluants spécifique à chaque véhicule. Nos algorithmes détectent automatiquement chacun de vos déplacements et différencient si vous êtes en voiture, à vélo ou à pied. Vos parcours sont ensuite analysés sur nos serveurs pour estimer les émissions polluantes liées à chacun d’entre eux. Pour plus de détails : le fonctionnement détaillé.


gecoair_screen1

Un indicateur simple : le point polluant « POP »

Tous les polluants sont réunis dans un indicateur unique et simple à suivre, le POP pour Point Polluant. Un score POP est associé à chaque déplacement, moins de POP c’est moins de pollution générée. En suivant ses POPs, l’utilisateur va mesurer l’impact polluants de chacun de ses trajets. Par exemple, prendre sa voiture sur un petit parcours va fortement augmenter ses POPs sur la journée et l’inciter, s’il le peut, à se déplacer autrement. À la fin de chaque trajet, le résultat est accompagné de conseils simples et pratiques pour améliorer la façon de conduire et ainsi contribuer à améliorer la  qualité de l’air.


icone-de-batterie_21212559
Afin de réduire la consommation de batterie et dans le respect de votre vie privée, le GPS n’est activé que quand nécessaire : uniquement pour les trajets en voiture.

GECO air, une base de données pour les futurs aménagements urbains

GECO air nous aide à mieux connaître la pollution atmosphérique à l’échelle locale et contribue ainsi à mieux estimer la qualité de l’air. GECO air  collecte des données sur vos déplacements. L’application n’a pas une fin commerciale. Financée par IFPEN, et également par l’Ademe, cette initiative a pour objectif de réellement lutter contre la dégradation de l’environnement. Le déploiement de l’application permettra de récolter des données significatives pour alimenter nos recherches. Nous allons par exemple pouvoir étudier la pollution sur un trajet, sur une route en particulier, à travers des données de plusieurs automobilistes sur plusieurs jours. À partir de là, nous pourrons élaborer une carte et pointer les zones de fortes émissions de particules fines et de polluants. Ces données vont pouvoir par la suite être utilisées pour agir sur la structure de la route : favoriser une zone à 30 pavée plutôt qu’un ralentisseur pour éviter les accélérations brusques des automobilistes et donc un pic de pollution… De simples idées pour l’instant mais qui pourraient conduire les ministères, les agences de qualité de l’air et les municipalités à prendre des mesures à partir d’une expérience et d’une étude réelles. Il s’agit là d’une campagne de sciences citoyennes (citizen science), permettant au citoyen de participer à des projets scientifiques qui s’appuient sur de vraies données d’usage.



Avec GECO air, IFPEN met à profit son expertise scientifique dans les domaines de la modélisation des polluants et des motorisations, et du développement d’algorithmes de calcul.
GECO air complète l’action initiée par IFPEN en 2014 dans le domaine des services connectés avec l’application d’écoconduite GECO qui compte déjà plus de 26.000 utilisateurs..

Pour en savoir plus : Comment ça marche ?

Challenge écoconduite interentreprises avec Geco air

Vous voulez réduire votre impact environnemental pour respirer un air plus pur ? Vous souhaitez faire des économies tout en contribuant au bien-être de la planète ?…. Vous aimez les Challenges ? Le challenge écoconduite Geco air est fait pour vous ! Enregistrez votre entreprise, c’est gratuit ! Puis diffusez le flyer à vos …

Support

Détection automatique sur les téléphones de marques Huawei/Xiaomi Sur certains marques de téléphones, il est nécessaire d’autoriser Geco air à tourner en arrière plan pour pouvoir bénéficier de la détection automatique des trajets. Appareils concernés : Huawei/Honor Xiaomi Instructions 1. Rajouter Geco air à la liste des applications protégés :   …

Comment ça marche ?

Cette article présente le fonctionnement de l’application GECO air, de son installation à son utilisation au quotidien. Il explicite également l’approche scientifique mise en oeuvre pour l’estimation des polluants, et répond aux interrogations que les plus sceptiques pourraient se poser. L’installation L’application est disponible sur les stores, gratuitement, pour iOs …

La qualité de l’air : un enjeu clé

En octobre 2013, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé a classé la pollution de l’air extérieur comme cancérigène certain pour l’homme. Les polluants atmosphériques, et en particulier les particules, représentent un enjeu sanitaire majeur. En France, il est estimé que l’exposition aux particules fines (PM2,5) réduit l’espérance de vie de 8,2 …

Une application pour agir

GECO air part d’un constat simple : avec le même véhicule et sur un même trajet, les émissions polluantes peuvent varier du simple au triple en fonction du style de conduite. Ce constat reste malheureusement peu connu du grand public. L’application aide les conducteurs à  réduire l’impact de leurs déplacements sur la qualité …

Qui sommes-nous ?

IFP Energies nouvelles (IFPEN) est un acteur majeur de la recherche et de la formation dans les domaines de l’énergie, du transport et de l’environnement. Dans le cadre de sa mission d’intérêt général, confiée par les pouvoirs publics, IFPEN concentre ses efforts sur l’apport de solutions aux défis sociétaux de l’énergie …